A WICKEDLY GOOD TIME

I was home for a week and found out that Wicked, the musical, is playing in Manila! I took no time in deciding…I have to see it! On February 6 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines, I watched the show with my friend Joyce, and her sister Chi, and we definitely had a wickedly good time!

The story revolves around the 2 witches of Oz, their young lives leading up to how they became known as Glinda, the Good, and Elphaba, the Wicked Witch of the West. I was intrigued with it’s massive following in Broadway and the rave reviews I’ve been reading on social media. And so I went to see the show without knowing the storyline, the characters, or any of the songs –well, after Defying Gravity was sung, i said “OK, there’s one.” 😀 .  I stepped out of the theater hall, smiling, humming to one of the showtunes, and still in awe of how Elphaba defied gravity. The day after, I downloaded the soundtrack and listened to it over and over.

DSCN8777

The animatronic dragon towering over the audience.

DSCN8787

Chi, myself, and Joyce – all wickified!

??????????

The show has ended its Manila run last March 9, and I am so happy to have been able to see it!

A month later, I still have the songs on repeat. And as it seems like I just can’t make the Wicked fever go away, I’ll say — “Because I knew you, I have been changed FOR GOOD.”

Leave a Reply

